Skip to main content

How Ocean.io Billing, Renewal, Credits & Expiration Work

This guide explains how billing, credits expiration, cancellations, and payments work at Ocean.io, so you always know what to expect.

1. How Your Billing Cycle Works

Your billing cycle renews on the exact date of purchase.

Monthly Plans

Monthly plans are being retired

As of October 1, 2026, monthly plans are no longer available to purchase.

If you're on a monthly subscription that renews in October, you'll keep full access to the platform and can use your remaining credits until the end of your current billing period. After that, you can continue with an annual plan, starting at $2,500 per year.

For enterprise accounts, plans are arranged directly with our sales team. You can book a call from within the app.

Questions about your subscription? Reach out to us through the in-app chat.

Annual Plans

If you purchase an annual plan on January 5th, 2026, your subscription will renew on January 5th, 2027, and continue on the same date each subsequent year.

Credits are assigned on that exact renewal date once the invoice is processed.

2. When Do Credits Renew?

Credits are automatically assigned at renewal, once your invoice is generated and successfully paid.

The process is fully automated:

  • A new invoice is generated on your renewal date

  • Once the invoice is paid, credits are assigned

  • Your usage limits reset accordingly

No manual action is required.

3. What Happens If the Invoice Is Not Paid?

If your renewal invoice is not paid:

  • Credits will not be assigned

  • You typically have a short payment window (approximately 3 days)

  • If payment is not received within that timeframe, the subscription will automatically cancel

Once cancelled, all subscription credits are affected (see cancellation section below).

4. Credit Validity & Rollover

All credits that are part of your monthly plan are valid for 6 months from the date they are assigned. For yearly plans, the validity is 12 months from the date they are assigned. Subscription credits will expire immediately when your subscription stops. Pay as you go credits are always valid for 3 months.

This means:

  • Credits do not disappear immediately at the end of a billing cycle

  • They roll over and remain usable for 6-12 months from the original assignment date

Nothing is lost during an active subscription.

If your credits have not renewed yet, it means:

  • The renewal date has not yet been reached, or

  • The invoice has not been paid

Credits will renew automatically once the billing conditions are met.

Credit Deductions and Returns

When you perform a bulk enrichment in Ocean.io, credits are deducted upfront for all selected contacts to initiate the verification process.

Once verification is complete, credits are automatically returned for any contacts whose email addresses or Phone numbers could not be successfully verified/revealed. Your credit balance will be updated accordingly after the verification process finishes.

As a result, you are ultimately charged only for contacts with successfully verified email addresses.

5. What Happens If You Cancel?

If you cancel your subscription, your credits expire on your original renewal date, which, if you cancel, becomes your effective cancellation date.

Manual Bank Transfers Are Not Supported for Subscriptions

Because billing and credit allocation are fully automated and directly tied to successful payment confirmation:

  • Subscription payments must be completed online via credit card.

  • Manual bank transfers are not supported for new active subscriptions.

  • Credits are only allocated once the system confirms payment.

  • Bank transfers can cause delays or mismatches, which may result in suspension or cancellation.

To ensure uninterrupted access and automatic credit allocation, subscription payments must be processed online, for special cases please reach out to [email protected].

📅 Did your subscription start before February 2026 or do you have a custom plan? Then you might be on our legacy plan. See this support article for more details (only accessible for legacy customers).

Did this answer your question?